Ocoee trip down memory lane

Rafting on the Ocoee River
Rafting on the Ocoee River (Photo credit: Focused Exposure)

I can’t sleep which is nothing new with my insomnia so I’m up reading instead. The book has me smiling and laughing like crazy. It’s set in Tennessee/Georgia (my 2 home states) and has whitewater rafting scenes set on the Ocoee River.

For those of you that know me (or actually paid attention to my about me section on Facebook) you can verify that I love whitewater rafting, have been several times and to different places. Well if you know me real well, you know that the Ocoee is my favorite spot, not just because of its killer rapids (hello the Olympics were held there), but also because of a weekend trip with a certain group of NG guys.

There’s nothing like going whitewater rafting, paint balling and repelling with a whole National Guard unit. Y’all were something else! But man did we all have a blast that weekend! It was great to get away from the city for a couple days. I know Sol was happy to be away from Fort McPherson and I’m sure the rest of you were too.

—> The memory that makes me crack up the most is…. Mac repeatedly saying “Did you see the size of her arms? Her guns are bigger than mine!” It was made in reference to the muscles on the female rafting guide’s arms.

A close second on the fond memory scale is when a certain person got shot in the butt with a paint ball for being on his cell phone all the way from base. I also remember who shot that paint gun from the third story window. Eidetic memory comes in handy somedays 🙂

 

One thought on “Ocoee trip down memory lane

Leave a Reply

