A Mark Made – New Orleans, Louisiana

Gotta love New Orleans!

Marina Chetner

First impressions have left their mark as we travel across the US on a short trip. As much as I try to avoid it, I do make comparisons when I visit a new city based on other places I have seen and experienced.

I liked New Orleans as soon as I saw it. From a distance, its skyline is defined but doesn’t impose. Being introduced via the Garden District, my eyes and mind  immediately became preoccupied. Lush green ferns cascade over lacy wrought iron balconies; Creole, Caribbean, and Colonial architecture decorate the streets, block after block; the opulent interiors of the neighbourhood’s stately homes stand on display, well lit by their high ceilinged grand chandeliers.

On a general scale, I initially likened New Orleans to some of my favourite places. I compared its palm fringed, neon lit Canal St with LA’s Hollywood Boulevard; the milliner, boutiques, and cafes of Magazine…

View original post 170 more words

Leave a Reply

