My skin secret for NaBloPoMo

NaBloPoMo November 2012

Today’s entry in the daily post challenge by BlogHer, as a part of NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month), is a recipe from my home to yours.

Everybody always asks how I keep my skin so soft and how come I never get breakouts on my face. It’s sugar. That’s my big secret. I use homemade sugar scrubs to exfoliate my face and body. Didn’t expect that did you? I ask you this… What is the point in paying big money for the store-bought variety with its extra preservatives? Or even worse depending on a spa variety with it’s over inflated price tag? You can do that if you want to but I would rather use that extra $40 dollars for something fun like dinner and a movie.

Since most, if not all, of you have probably never even tried a homemade sugar scrub before, the following recipes will make only enough for a couple uses. Consider them a trial run before you make the big batches. Without further ado here are your sample size recipes:

#1 Sugar Scrub (This is the one I use for the body. Tip: Use a body brush to loosen any dead skin cells and then apply the scrub. Do this before even turning on the shower and follow-up with a good lotion. You will be shocked at how much softer your skin is after just one use.)

Combine the sugar with the honey in a resealable container. Add in the vanilla and stir.

#2 Sugar Scrub (I use this on my face twice a week. Advice: If you have sensitive skin I would recommend only using it once a week until you know how your skin is going to react.)

Combine the ingredients in a resealable container and stir.

#3 Sugar Scrub (This is a lip scrub and consider it your bonus item of the day.)

  • Wet a washcloth and hold it on your lips for 5 minutes to soften your skin. (I use the hottest water I can stand.)
  • Apply regular petroleum jelly, using an index finger, and cover both your upper and lower lip.
  • Pour a spoonful of sugar onto a small saucer and dip your finger into the sugar.
  • Dab your now sugar-y finger onto your lips until both the top and bottom lips are covered.
  • Rub in a circular motion to remove the flaky skin. (Try for 30 seconds or more.)
  • Rinse your lips off with warm water on a damp cotton ball.
  • Then pat dry with a clean washcloth.
  • Cover your lips in several coats of lip balm for maximum results.

Hope you take the time to try these out. Remember we all need pampering once in a while.

Something else to consider with the holidays coming up…. I’ve made jars of this stuff and given it as gifts. And because it’s long-lasting, I used to keep some in my guest bathroom for when I had guests in from out-of-town.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

