Quote by Elliott Erwitt for NaBloPoMo

 “Nothing happens when you sit at home. I always make it a point to carry a camera with me at all times. I just shoot at what interests me at that moment.” – Elliott Erwitt

Saw this quote in a magazine article today. I guess it struck me because 1) yesterday marked the first day of NaBloPoMo and the assignment was “tell us your favorite quotation and why” and 2) just this past week a group of professional photographers, including myself, were talking about this very subject in one of the Facebook groups.

Somebody had posed the question about which camera (SLR, point and shoot, or iPhone) we used outside of our business, and in our personal lives, for capturing the shot. I answered back with “I carry my original Canon Rebel XT, an external flash and two lenses in my purse.”

Seriously I do. My friends often kid me because I always have this bulky, kinda hefty bag with me, but they just don’t know. Let me rephrase that: they know but they just don’t understand. That camera was my livelihood for so long that I feel incomplete without it. The first rule of being a photojournalist is always carry a camera with you, you never know what might happen. I had it drilled into my head for so long that even now I have that camera with me wherever I go. What makes it funny (at least to me) is that outside of a little freelance work, I don’t even work for that magazine anymore. I’m all about weddings and studio work now and use a newer Canon for those occasions.

The quote remains one of my favorites because I look back on my time as a photojournalist and can’t help but smile. Oh the stories I could tell………

 

5 thoughts on “Quote by Elliott Erwitt for NaBloPoMo

    1. Hello and thanks! This is my first NaBloPoMo 🙂 I decided to do it at the last minute, hence the 2 am posting. I kept flipping back and forth between should I or shouldn’t I and right at midnight I just said I’m doing it lol

      1. I knew about the novel one from the editing half of my life but I only found out about the blog version yesterday morning. It was an all day internal debate lol

Leave a Reply

