Vent Against Bullying (NaBloPoMo Day 3)

NaBloPoMo November 2012

The blog post I intended to do today for NaBloPoMo and BlogHer took a backseat when I ran across something on Instagram that frankly p****d me off. There was a young lady (and I use that term loosely!) who had posted a rather hateful comment on the new self-portrait of another young woman. I do not know either one personally so I can’t be sure of their ages but both of these women seem to be in their mid-to-late twenties. Even though I don’t know the injured party, something about the comment just immediately touched a nerve. My blood pressure shot up and I was instantly furious for the pretty blonde woman who was so proud of her new photo.

I commented on the image and raved about how pretty she looked and how great of a pic it was. I also told her how wrong the “bully” was for posting what she had. Maybe my compliments will ease some of the sting from the ugly and hateful comments posted by a grown woman who should know better. I then messaged the “mean girl” through another social media site. This is part of what I told her in the message:

For the sake of the rant below I will use Vickie (for victim) to refer to the young lady and Medusa (I know I have a weird sense of humor) for the bully.

Medusa, can I ask you what about the picture makes Vickie a tramp? Let’s see… Is it the blond hair? Sounds like a case of jealousy then. Here’s an idea, go buy some hair dye and get the hell over it. Maybe you are jealous of her blue eyes. If that’s the case, go to your eye doctor and order yourself some color contacts. Is it the tattoos? If it’s the tats Vickie’s sporting that you are jealous of then put your big girl panties on and go get your own damn ink. If your just an ignorant tattoo hater all I can say is you need to grow up and look at the world around you. Tattoos have been around longer than most of us have been alive. It’s not just a trend or a fashion statement. Every one of my tattoos has a meaning and hating on someone for what they

/\look like or choose to wear (on their skin or their bodies) is what’s wrong with the world. Quit being petty. Frankly you should grow up and act your age. You are old enough to know better. You should have left the “mean girl” attitude back in elementary school.

You get the gist of it. I gave it to Medusa with both barrels (Irish temper) and maybe doing so, makes me a bully. I don’t know. I do know that the comment she left on Vickie’s photo was offensive to me as a human being, not just as a female with a few tattoos. People may wonder where today’s youth learns to make fun of people and why such behavior starts at such a young age these days, or why those same kids become bully’s later in life. I know why. They learn it from their parents, not from video games or movies like society wants you to believe. They see it in their homes and unfortunately show it in their schools. And when they grow up into adulthood they carry that behavior with them. It will show itself time and time again, either in their personal lives or maybe in their workplace. The statistics don’t lie. Bullying begets bullying. Abuse begets more abuse. Ugh. Rant over.

2 thoughts on “Vent Against Bullying (NaBloPoMo Day 3)

    1. I was never really a victim of bullying in school but then again it wasn’t as bad when I was younger. To see these kids committing suicide (don’t even get me started on the school/workplace shootings) it hurts my heart. If suicide (or mass murder) is their only option away from the daily beatings and putdowns, then what kind of future is there gonna be for the next generation after them? It’s ridiculous to think that bullying is a temporary thing or that it’s isolated to one location. This is a nationwide problem and somebody somewhere needs to start coming up with a solution to end it sooner rather than later. I just hope that everybody that reads this “random rant” recognizes that yeah I’m venting about a specific thing that offended me but I’m also commenting on a much larger problem that should offend everybody.

Leave a Reply

