Legacy of Love

anewfreelife

The counselor listened intently as I shared my family history and then commented that she thought my dad did the best he could with what he was given. I asked, “You mean, you just don’t think he had the tools in his toolbox?” She leaned forward and answered, “No! I don’t think your dad had a frickin’ toolbox!”

My daddy only had three-and-a-half fingers on his right hand.  When he was 18 months old his older two brothers gave him a ride on a rotary lawnmower, and his fingers got chopped off.  The middle finger either wasn’t found or wasn’t able to be reattached; I heard the story told both ways.  The three little boys were left totally unsupervised because Grandpa was home, sick in bed with syphilis, and couldn’t work, so Grandma had to leave her children in the care of a young babysitter while she earned money to…

View original post 940 more words

One thought on “Legacy of Love

Leave a Reply

