NaBloPoMo day 13: bravery, stupidity or just plain crazy

NaBloPoMo November 2012

The NaBloPoMo prompt of the day from the BlogHer website  is:

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 What is the bravest thing you’ve ever done?

Oh boy. I don’t even know where to begin. See I am a self-admitted adrenaline junkie so I’ve done some pretty brave (see also: stupid and crazy) things in my life. I’m always chasing that next big rush. I can’t even blame all of my moments of temporary insanity on saying “yes” to a dare. I’m a risk taker and always have been. It’s my curse to bear but I’m determined to enjoy every minute of it. šŸ™‚

Example #1. Was it Bravery, Stupidity or just plain Crazy?

UNA 002

When I was 17, I went inside a lion’s den with an adult male lion. His name was Leo. You might have heard of him when he was the mascot for the University of North Alabama.

Examples #2 and #3. Was it Bravery, Stupidity or just plain Crazy?

I held an alligator in Florida and a shark in the Bahamas. Didn’t get bit by either one. šŸ™‚

Example #4. Was it Bravery, Stupidity or just plain Crazy?

Laity Lodge Family Camp: Rappelling

My introduction to the art of rappelling was in East Tennessee with a bunch of gung-ho Army boys, including my late husband.  They were on weekend leave from base and ready for a little fun in the sun so you can imagine how that training session went. (You can read more on that adventure here.)

English: Combat Service Identification Badge o...
English: Combat Service Identification Badge of the 101st Airborne Division (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

That was several years ago and since then I have been a few more times including with the 101st Airborne (you can watch that video here).

I love the freedom of rappelling and the view is quite amazing too. Good thing I’m not afraid of heights šŸ™‚ Side-note: Even I have limits. Free-climbing is not in my forseable future. I value my life a little more than being quite that crazy.

Future Examples #5 and #6. Will it be Bravery, Stupidity or just plain Crazy?

Skydiving V5-NSK
Skydiving V5-NSK (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Like most people I have a bucket list (coming soon to this blog) of places I want to visit and things I want to accomplish in this lifetime. Sky diving has been on that list since day one. I have even had it scheduled a few times and something always happens to make me cancel my plans, like my dad having a heart attack. It’s back on the agenda for 2013 along with taking a ride on a hot air balloon.

Serengeti Hot Air Balloon Ride - Serengeti Nat...
Serengeti Hot Air Balloon Ride – Serengeti National Park – Tanzania, Africa (Photo credit: David Berkowitz)

It was a conscious decision on my part to take a silly not so serious view in my reply to this question. I did this because we all have moments of what we consider to be bravery while others look on our actions as stupid or just plain crazy.

With Veteran’s Day being earlier this week I also wanted to leave the serious focus of actual bravery on them since they are the true heroes. I consider our nation’s veteran’s, those who have served or are serving now, to be living examples of what brave really looks like. The same goes for the dedicated civil servants who wear a badge or don a fireman’s jacket. 

One thought on “NaBloPoMo day 13: bravery, stupidity or just plain crazy

Leave a Reply

