Lance and Drain

Great metaphor

anewfreelife

When a person spends nearly eight decades in one town they can gather a lot of friends and admirers if they live their life right. This was a life obviously lived right. By the time I arrived the only available parking was several blocks away. My only black shoes were a size too small, but I had worn them anyway. I figured I would only be riding in the car or sitting in the parlor. I never imagined I’d be walking four blocks in those awful tight heels to go to a funeral.

For the first few weeks I put a bandage and antibiotic cream on my toe.  Then, I went to soaking it.  Months went by, and it didn’t get better.  It got worse.  The mere weight of a sheet felt like an ice pick was being shoved under my toenail.  I could hardly bear weight.  It was red…

View original post 732 more words

Leave a Reply

