A NaBloPoMo Lock-In

NaBloPoMo November 2012

 Monday, November 19, 2012 If you had to get locked in some place (book store, amusement park, etc) overnight alone, where would you choose to be locked in?

That’s the daily prompt from the BlogHer website. I’ve thought on and off all day about how I want to answer this. I’ve weighed the pros and cons of each option.

Book Store

Pros: I can kill hours with a good book and there are thousands to choose from. plenty of seating choices so I can stay comfortable. plenty of drinks and food to choose from as long as it’s connected to a coffee shop or bakery. otherwise vending machine food and drinks would suffice. the peace and quiet would be great. inside a building means mother nature would not be an issue. even if the power went out there would be a backup generator and those little book flashlights to read by. I could probably play music or watch TV also.

 

Cons: can’t really think of any other than not being big on vending machine food/drinks and how limited the choices would be.

Amusement Park

Pros: would be fun to ride the rides all nightplenty of drinks and food to choose from. could perfect my dart game technique as well as all the other games.

Cons: how would I run the rides if I’m the only one there? getting into the locked cafe’s and food/beverage carts might require a lil breaking and entering which isn’t something on my bucket list. limited sleeping choices for when I got tired. weather would play a major factor.

Zoo 

Pros: a night spent unencumbered by the heavy day-time crowds, walking at my pace, checking out all the animals, would be right up my alley. again there would be plenty of food and drinks to choose from.

Cons: most of the animals are locked up indoors at night so the numbers of animals I could see might be fairly limited. even with so many penned up for the night, can you imagine how loud it would be with that many animals nearby? I can tell you from first hand experience lions are not quiet animals at night but they make really good alarm clocks. (that is, if the effect you go for in the morning is freaked outta your gourd. it takes some getting used to and I haven’t had that experience since my days at UNA.) sleeping choices away from the animal noises would be pretty much nonexistent. again getting into the locked cafe’s and food/beverage carts might need a little b&e. rain would mean finding an indoor place to camp out for the night which would again limit the sleeping possibilities.

Aquarium

Pros: again, a night spent without the heavy day-time crowds, walking at my own speed, checking out all the animals, would be right up my alley. again there would be plenty of food and drinks to choose from because most aquariums have a restaurant on-site. it’s all indoors so no weather issues. they run on backup generators during storms and power outages and usually have televisions and radios so boredom wouldn’t be an issue. lots of sleeping options including the floor if nothing else.

Cons: not being able to see some of the exhibits until I figured out the light controls. figuring out how to turn on and off everything would be a pain because I’ve seen their switchboards. finding my way around in the dark until I figured out all the switches and controls might add some new bruises to my collection. 

Pros: I could watch movies all night. plenty of drinks and food to choose from. there is something to be said for the extended exposure and availability of high quantities of chocolate alone.

Cons: I couldn’t tolerate those uncomfortable seats for that long. and if I got tired, where would I sleep? the floor? I don’t think so. too many germs for my liking. and if I gave into my chocolate addiction imagine how sick I would be afterwards.

 

I’ve made my decision. I choose… bookstore of course. Second place goes to aquarium. Which one would you choose?

 

Leave a Reply

