questions answered

NaBloPoMo November 2012

For today’s blog post, I’m going to answer a few questions from the world wide web.

First up is the official BlogHer prompt of the day:

Friday, November 30, 2012 What has been the hardest part about blogging daily?

For me, it has been taking the time to do it everyday.

I’m not your typical 9 to 5 gal. I don’t have a set work schedule. I can’t even really get one because of the multiple jobs. Yeah, I open and close the studio at around the same time everyday but I’m not always the one in the office. I do shoot on location including destination weddings and special events. Once I add in the magazine assignments covering several states, and in the case of this past week a foreign country or two via Skype, the photography conventions and training classes to keep me current, book fairs, splitting my spare time between my private editing clients and those from the publishing house, running a nonprofit, etc you can see why I can’t always count on a set schedule (or much of a social life). I don’t see a time-clock anywhere in my future and unfortunately insomnia doesn’t allow me a set sleeping schedule either which throws my already crazy “schedule” off even more.

If I continue to participate in NaBloPoMo and post daily through the month of December then I’m gonna have to actually add “blog now’ to my calendar with a reminder alarm. Because all that’s saved me in November from a massive NaBloPloMo fail is that I take a lot of pictures, have the iPhone app and can email posts too. I wish I could link to posts and multimedia via the WordPress app like I can do online but maybe that’ll be included in the next app update.

Questions 2, 3 and 4 are of the “would you rather” variety and were taken from you the general readership.

Would you rather have more blog readers or more blog comments?

More comments definitely. I prefer to know that the followers I do have actually read my blog postings and agree/disagree with my opinion rather than just racking up a higher following number of people who may/may not read the actual posts. I prefer the meaningful interaction over the gain in popularity. What’s the old adage about meaningful relationships vs fake ones?

Would you rather have invisibility or the ability to fly?

Fly. The invisibility would be great if I was a spy or something but it’s not gonna help a photographer very much. Or a book editor for that matter. But flying would save me a ton on travel expenses.

Would you rather travel to space or go deep into the ocean?

Ocean. I’m a sucker for the water.

Next and final question for today comes from another reader.

Hot or Cold? Preference.

Being cold is easier to fix than being too hot. As the old saying goes you can put more clothes on than you can take off. I’m hot natured so when it’s super hot out I hide indoors as much as possible.

Is there a question you want to ask me? Do it in the comments section below.

 

Leave a Reply

