Recipe: Vanilla Bean Frappachino

One of my favorite drinks at Starbucks doesn’t actually have any coffee in it. It’s the vanilla bean cream frappachino. Since I live and work 45 minutes from the nearest Starbucks, when I have a craving I have to really debate with myself if I want to drive that far and pay that much for a drink.

Now if I’m shooting on location and there’s a coffee shop around the corner I admit I skip the debate all together because the temptation for a quick fix is just too great.

But this post isn’t about those days. It’s for the days that I have to make do with what I can drum up in my kitchen. On one of those such occasions I grabbed the computer and took to the web, trying to find a home version. After several rounds of trial and error I managed to create a perfect replica of vanilla bean frappachino goodness.

http://t.co/glU8MCkJN2

Ingredients:

3/4 cup of crushed ice
1.5 cups of milk
3 scoops of vanilla bean ice cream (Starbucks brand is obviously going to be the best for replicating their signature drink but any brand will do)
1/2 tablespoon of sugar
2 small pinches of cinnamon
2 drops of vanilla extract
cool whip (optional)

Directions:

1.) Combine the crushed ice, milk, and ice cream in your blender.

2.) Blend for just a few seconds. I usually do around 5 seconds and never anymore than 10 seconds.

3.) Add your 2 small pinches of cinnamon, the 1/2 tablespoon of sugar, and the 2 drops of vanilla extract.

4.) Blend again for 10-15 seconds. Your shake should be smooth and well blended at this point.

5.) As tempting as it is to drink up now that your shake is made, you should let it settle in the blender for the next 2-3 minutes before pouring it in your glass.

6.) Once you have it in your glasses, you can sprinkle some more cinnamon on top or add cool whip for the full Starbucks experience. For me I add the cool whip but not anymore cinnamon. I don’t want to ruin the shake by accidently adding too much.

7.) Enjoy it however you choose to top it off.

Leave a Reply

