Have you read this yet?

Came across two blog posts today that I just have to share.

The first one, An Open Letter from Amy, a “Fat Chick” to Mike Jeffries, CEO of Abercrombie, made me stand up and cheer while the second one, People I Want to Punch in the Throat: Abercrombie & Fitch, fed my baser instinct to, well, want to punch people.

Both are reactions to the same asinine statements by Mike Jeffries, the head of Abercrombie. After reading the original interview with Mr. Conceited and the various responses from Twitter, Facebook and around the blog-o-sphere, I went on a lil shopping spree in my closet. I don’t have a lot of A&F clothes because I am a plus-size girl and Abercrombie doesn’t make very many clothes that come in my size but those that I do have found a new home in my trash can.

Yes I know that throwing away the clothes will not make an impact on his bottom dollar because they are already purchased but it made me feel better all the same. I can guarantee you this, I will be informing everybody I know about his callous statements and asking them to stop shopping at his stores. And since I know lots of people, including skinny “cool kids” and more importantly lots of parents of skinny “cool kids”, I will be affecting his bottom dollar in the end.

2 thoughts on “Have you read this yet?

    1. For me it’s not the surprise factor or even the lack of plus sizes in their stores. His arrogance was what got to me. It is his sheer audacity to publicly boast about such sales practices while other stores do the same thing but have enough sense to do it quietly.

Leave a Reply

